Now Loading

New Directors Appointed at Six Indian Institutes of Technology

In a significant development for higher education in India, six Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) have announced the appointment of new directors. According to sources within the Education Ministry, the appointments were finalized on Thursday, April 18.

Manindra Agrawal, professor from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Kanpur, has been named as the new Director of IIT Kanpur. Meanwhile, Devendra Jalihal, known for his contributions at IIT Madras, will now serve as the Director of IIT Guwahati.

The prestigious IIT Jodhpur will now be led by Avinash Kumar Agarwal, who previously held the position of professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at IIT Kanpur. Similarly, Sukumar Mishra has been appointed as the Director of IIT Dhanbad, and DS Katti will take charge as the head of IIT Goa.

Amit Patra, another distinguished academician, has been entrusted with the responsibility of leading IIT BHU.

These appointments reflect the government’s commitment to ensuring the continued excellence and leadership of India’s premier technical institutes.