Now Loading

Chandigarh: UT administration assigns additional charges to two IAS officers

The Excise & Taxation department, Chandigarh witnesses a significant administrative reshuffle as Ajay Chagti (IAS:2010:AGMUT) takes on the additional charge of Secretary, Excise & Taxation, relieving Dr. Vijay Namdeorao Zade (IAS:2002:PB). Chagti, with his extensive experience in various administrative domains including Personnel, Health, and Hospitality, is poised to bring strategic leadership to the department. His previous stint as Chief Executive Officer at CHB underscores his capability to navigate complex administrative landscapes.

In tandem, Rupesh Kumar (IAS:2019:AGMUT) assumes the mantle of Commissioner, Excise & Taxation, relieving Vinay Pratap Singh (IAS:2011:HY). Kumar’s background in agriculture and marketing, coupled with his experience in handling diverse portfolios such as the House Allotment Committee and Transport Authority, positions him as a dynamic leader for the department. His appointment reflects the government’s emphasis on leveraging administrative talent to drive innovation and efficiency in revenue administration.

These appointments come at a crucial juncture, signaling a strategic shift towards fresh leadership and proactive governance in the Excise & Taxation department. As Chagti and Kumar step into their new roles, expectations soar for their contributions towards streamlining operations, enhancing revenue collection, and ensuring compliance with taxation policies.