Now Loading

AS Rajeev appointed as Vigilance Commissioner in Central Vigilance Commission

New Delhi: The President of India, through a warrant dated February 9, 2024, and by Section 4(1) of the Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003, has named AS Rajeev as the latest Vigilance Commissioner in the Central Vigilance Commission.

Taking his oath on March 11, 2024, before the Central Vigilance Commissioner, Shri AS Rajeev formally assumed his role as Vigilance Commissioner, with Arvinda Kumar, another Vigilance Commissioner, in attendance, duly authorized by the President of India as per Section 5(3) of the CVC Act 2003.              

With a distinguished career spanning over 38 years in banking across four prominent banks—Syndicate Bank, Indian Bank, Vijaya Bank, and Bank of Maharashtra—Shri AS Rajeev brings extensive expertise to his new position. Notably, during his tenure as Executive Director at Indian Bank, the institution witnessed significant growth, emerging as one of India’s strongest and most profitable banks, boasting low non-performing assets and a high capital adequacy ratio.

As MD & CEO of Bank of Maharashtra over the past five years, Shri AS Rajeev successfully steered the bank out of the RBI’s Prompt Corrective Action, transforming it from a small-sized bank to a robust midsized institution. Under his leadership, Bank of Maharashtra excelled as one of the top-performing PSBs in the country, excelling in various business and profitability metrics while maintaining exceptional asset quality.

Shri AS Rajeev’s contributions extend beyond banking, having served as Nominee Director in institutions like EXIM Bank, New India Assurance Co Ltd, and National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI). Additionally, he held roles such as Vice Chairman of the Indian Banks Association and Member of the Core Group established by RBI for the implementation of Indian Accounting Standards.

The swearing-in ceremony witnessed the presence of senior officials from the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Enforcement Directorate (ED), and the Central Vigilance Commission.

As per the Central Vigilance Commission Act, 2003, the appointment of a Central Vigilance Commissioner and two Vigilance Commissioners is mandated. The tenure for Vigilance Commissioners spans four years or until the incumbent reaches the age of 65.

Tags: Governance