Now Loading

Three IAS Officers Transferred; Chandigarh gets New Advisor to Administrator

New Delhi: In a significant reorganization, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has appointed three senior AGMUT cadre IAS officers to key positions in three Union Territories, including the national capital.

A notable change is the allocation of an Advisor to the Administrator role – akin to the Chief Secretary position in states – for Chandigarh, a position vacant since the retirement of Dharampal, a 1988-batch IAS officer, in October last year.

As per the MHA’s directive on Monday, Rajeev Verma, a 1992-batch IAS officer, previously Chief Secretary of Puducherry since May 2022, has been reassigned as the Advisor to the Administrator in Chandigarh. Subsequently, Sharat Chauhan, a 1994-batch IAS officer and former Principal Secretary, Finance, Planning, and Investment in Arunachal Pradesh, will take over as the Chief Secretary of Puducherry.

Navin Kumar Choudhary, a 1994-batch officer who served as the Principal Secretary of the General Administration Department in the Mizoram Government, has been transferred to Delhi.

Tags: Governance